Thai Cuisine

The Thai Cuisine is founded on simple ingredients of excellent quality, it relies of five primary flavours that are used in differing proportions to produce a wonderful range of dishes, and Thailand can be split into four distinct geographical region, North, North East, Central and South, all of which have their own distinct characteristics. The cooking of each region, while using these basic flavours, has it’s own characteristics and produces and interesting array of local specialities. The Royal Palace tradition also plays an important role in the preparation of Thai dishes, particularly in their careful crafted presentation. In Thai cooking, the five key flavours that are used are salty, sweet, sour, bitter and spicy. The secret to all Thai food lies in the subtle differences in the proportions of ingredients used, which can add layer of flavour and aroma.

Write-up adapted from Chef Korn’s Thai@home

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s